404 500 arrow-leftarrow-rightattachbutton-agriculturebutton-businessbutton-interestcalendarcaretclockcommentscrossdew-point external-linkfacebook-footerfacebookfollow hearthumidity linkedin-footerlinkedinmenupagination-leftpagination-right pin-outlinepinrainfall replysearchsharesoil ticktwitter-footertwitterupload weather-clearweather-cloudyweather-drizzleweather-fogweather-hailweather-overcastweather-partly-cloudyweather-rainweather-snowweather-thunderstormweather-windywind

Australian Cotton Industry Awards recognise excellence

Nominations have opened for the 2017 Australian Cotton Industry Awards, which recognise excellence and high achievement throughout the supply chain.

Cotton Australia has called for nominations to the Awards – they can be made online any time before 5pm on March 24, 2017, at the following website: www.australiancottonawards.com.

The organisation’s CEO, Adam Kay, says the Awards acknowledge the hard work of everyone in the industry, from growers and ginners to product suppliers, consultants, agronomists, research-ers and others.

For the first time the annual Awards dinner will be held in Griffith, Southern NSW, to coincide with the biennial Australian Cotton Collective and Cotton Trade Show.

The Awards program has also claimed another first, with crop protection company ADAMA welcomed as a sponsor.

“I encourage everyone in our industry to nominate those around them who deserve recognition,” Mr Kay says. “The annual Australian Cotton Industry Awards are a great way to celebrate our industry’s achievements and acknowledge the tremendous work and commitment of people throughout the cotton supply chain.”

Importantly, we stress that the Awards program is unlike local crop competitions and is not de-signed to indicate who is ‘best’ - it is simply a way to recognise those who have made enormous efforts to better our industry.
Cotton Australia CEO, Adam Kay

“I also take this opportunity to welcome ADAMA to the Awards line-up this year. ADAMA is spon-soring the Chris Lehmann Trust Young Cotton Achiever Award, established in memory of Chris Lehmann, a founding father of cotton agronomy in Australia.”

“The ADAMA Chris Lehmann Trust Young Cotton Achiever Award recognises a young member of the industry who has contributed significantly and has shown long-term commitment.”

ADAMA CEO Darrin Hines says the company was honoured to be able to contribute to both the awards and the broader cotton industry in this way.

“It’s wonderful that ADAMA is able to be associated with an award of the heritage of the Chris Lehmann Trust Young Cotton Achiever Award, and with an awards program as prestigious as the Australian Cotton Industry Awards,” Mr Hines says.

“The involvement continues our commitment to support young people in agriculture in Australia and to retain our skilled high achievers and to help them develop their careers.”

Mr Kay says the industry was excited to bring the Cotton Industry Awards to Griffith for the first time.

“Cotton is becoming the choice of more and more farmers, particularly in southern NSW, and so we are very happy to bring the Awards event to Griffith so that new growers who have only re-cently entered may participate more easily,” Mr Kay says.

Cash prizes are on offer for the successful recipients of the 2017 Australian Cotton Industry Awards, which has five categories:

  • Monsanto Grower of the Year
  • AgriRisk High Achiever of the Year
  • ADAMA Chris Lehmann Trust Young Cotton Achiever of the Year
  • Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year
  • IPF Service to Industry Award

Individuals and teams can nominate others or themselves through the online nomination form Entries for the 2017 Australian Cotton Industry Awards close at 5pm on 24 March, 2017.

Recipients will be announced at the Awards Dinner on July 26th, 2017 - held in conjunction with the Australian Cotton Collective and Cotton Trade Show (July 26 & 27) in Griffith, Southern NSW. Cotton Awards Taskforce Chairman, Geoff McIntyre, says the awards night is shaping up to be an exciting celebration of a great new era for the cotton industry.

“The Cotton Awards Dinner has a fantastic reputation for paying tribute to our recipients, as well as a wonderful night of networking and socialising,” Mr McIntyre says.

“It’s also about celebrating and sharing the great work, personal achievements and commitment of people through the entire cotton supply chain.”

The 2016 Australian Cotton Industry Awards recipients were:

  • Monsanto Grower of the Year: Connamara Partnership – Ian, Marilyn and Harry Carter (“Connamara” Pine Ridge, NSW)
  • AgriRisk High Achiever of the Year: Commins Partnership – Tim and Roger Commins (“Tiralee” Whitton, NSW)
  • Chris Lehmann Trust Young Achiever of the Year, sponsored by Bayer CropScience: Rebecca Fing (Goondiwindi, Qld)
  • Cotton Seed Distributors Researcher of the Year: Dr Guy Roth (Roth Rural, Narrabri, NSW)
  • IPF Service to Industry Award: 2016 Recipient – John Marshall (Dalby, Qld)

This media release "2017 COTTON INDUSTRY AWARDS RECOGNISE INDUSTRY EXCELLENCE" first appeared on the Cotton Australia website

  • Tags

0 Responses

Talking 2030 visits Victoria and South Australia


Talking 2030 visits Victoria and South Australia

19 May 2018 - National Farmers' Federation

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Greater diversity can only benefit rural industries


Greater diversity can only benefit rural industries

AgriFutures Australia Managing Director, John Harvey says increasing diversity in rural industries i...

19 May 2018 - John Harvey, AgriFutures

  • 0
  • 0
  • 3